Snack Attack

I love snacks. I have all my life. I’d much rather mow on some Goldfish all day then eat real meals. In college my roommate and I would get excited when we found new hummus, chips, or snack foods. I can remember distinctly coming home from grocery shopping in college and having to try each of the new snacks. It was crazy.

However with PCOS and not having the metabolic system like I used to have, I can’t just snack all day and still be able to fit through doors. So when I’m just absolutely dying for something snack-y, here are my go to snack items that won’t break your calorie bank.

 

1. Kettle Brand 40% Reduced Fat Potato Chips

Kettle

Non GMO, cooked in safflower/sunflower/canola oil, and only 3 ingredients. Plus the bag is BPA free. I like Cape Cod’s reduced fat chips as well, but these are just slightly above Cape Cod on the “GMO/Organic” scale. 13 chips for 130 calories and 6g of fat. Not stellar but if you need a chip, this is a better option than most. 

2. Pirate’s Booty

PB

Ugh Pirate’s Booty. In reality, this is really not good for you at all. It’s just puffed genetically modified rice and corn with real cheddar cheese on it. But it is literally like crack. And trying to quit Pirate’s Booty is really hard when your grocery store keeps putting the giant bags on sale 2 for $6. What I like most about this is the volume you can have for one serving. If you want to trick yourself into having a “big snack” this is the way to do it. 1oz is a serving and it’s roughly a cereal bowl worth of puffs. Again 130 calories, 5g of fat. Not stellar but better than what a serving of Cheetos will do to you.

3. Snikiddy Grilled Cheese Puffs

Snikiddy

My non-GMO answer to Pirate’s Booty. This brand is relatively new and used to be hard to find. However, most of my local grocery stores carry it now. These are like non-GMO version of Cheez Balls. Same nutritional info as Pirate’s Booty, 130 calories and 5g of fat for a 1oz serving. I actually like these a bit more than Pirate’s Booty.

4. Anything Dippable Dipped in Avocado Hummus

avocado hummus

If you haven’t had avocado hummus, you haven’t lived. SO GOOD. I will literally dip carrots, peppers, broccoli, pretzels, pita chips, and bread in this. I’ll also spread this on toast, on my egg sandwiches, on regular sandwiches. It is the BEST hummus around.

5. Fro Yo

IMG_7194

I am fortunate enough to have access to a locally made fro yo shop not too far from my dwelling. Their fro yo isn’t loaded with weird ingredients like many chain fro yo establishments. Although there is more sugar in fro yo, I actually like the taste better than ice cream. If you don’t load it up with candy (like I ALWAYS do), it can be a pretty guilt free treat. 

Those are my go to snacks. I try not to even buy any of these regularly besides hummus. If it’s not in my apartment, I won’t eat it. Plain and simple. I’ve actually been doing pretty well not buying snacks lately. However, when I have friends up or my parents over, I do feel obligated to keep something snack-like around. 

What are your go-to snack foods?

 

Leave a comment