Habits

There’s been a lot of talk about habits lately. It all started with the New Year Resolution campaigns. Apparently, it takes 21 days to form a new habit. I’ve disregarded this fact for quite some time. Mainly because I feel like I’m constantly having to change what I’m doing diet wise, workout wise, and life wise for a variety of reasons. But for the time being things seem pretty static in the injury / diet department. Therefore I am going to embark on the 21 day habit challenge.

I am all about attainable goals. It’s totally unrealistic, for me at least, to set a goal to lose 60lbs or climb Mt. Everest. I like to make a lot of smaller goals that equal to one bigger goal. That way I am constantly achieving goals and feeling successful. So my 21 day habit challenge is going to be easy. I’m going to try and go to the gym BEFORE work Monday – Thursday. I already go to my trainer Tuesday and Thursday so realistically I just need to add 2 more days of pre-work work outs. This leaves me Friday as a make-up day in case I miss Monday / Wednesday during the week. I also gave myself a challenge that if I make 5 days a week BEFORE work to work out, I am going to put $20 in to my savings account to save for an upcoming vacation this summer.

I made this my goal because working out after work is killing me. I’m so tired by the end of the day that I end up going to the gym around 8pm and I think it’s not doing the best for me. I would rather wake up and get it over with than dread think about it all day. I think this will also be helpful in the summer when I transition to running outside. It’s going to be way cooler outside before work than after during the June – August months.

This is my goal. I have a long list of little goals as well that I’m always working towards and achieving. Monday marks day 1 of the 21 days I’m giving myself to form this habit. I’ll keep you posted on my success or failures along the way and hopefully 23 days from now I’ll be a habitual morning work out person.

PS: Here’s what I anticipate I’ll look like attempting to use gym machines at 6am.

Treadmill Fail

Run and miss

 WorkoutGif

The last one is my absolute fav. What a total boss!

Leave a Reply

