Meal Prep Sunday

It is that time of the week again! I seriously sucked at meal prepping last week and I paid for it dearly. On Thursday I had a massive stomach / rib pain that almost sent me home from work. (I’m all for vaca days but for some reason I hate taking days off for physical ailments – just seems like a waste of time off) Pretty sure this pain was related to the fried pickles and beer poor diet choices Wednesday night. (thank you work party) But hey there are WAY worse things to have issues with. If I can’t partake in alcohol consumption, I think I’ll still be able to lead a happy, fulfilling life.

Anyways, I don’t think my life would have been so painful if I had taken the time to appropriately prepare my meals for the week like I usually do. So this week, and every week going forward, I vow to meal prep as best I can. Which leads me to the following meal prep recipes for the week:

1. Whole Wheat Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins

Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins

Recipe adapted from: Le Petit Pierogi

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups Organic whole wheat flour
1 1/4 cups Organic Quick Cooking Gluten Free oats
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 cup low-fat milk
1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
3/4 cup nonfat greek yogurt
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 tsp. vanilla
1/4 tsp. almond extract
3/4 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen (I used 1 cup)
Handful of crushed pecans

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Spray muffin tin with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large bowl combine flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. In a medium bowl combine applesauce, milk, sugar, greek yogurt, egg, and extracts. Make a well in dry ingredients and add applesauce mixture. Stir until just mixed. Fold in berries and Almonds. Fill muffin cups to top. This will make 12 large muffins. #gobigorgohome

Bake for 16-18 minutes. This time varies based on your oven, I bake all muffins until they are firm to the touch in the center. You can also test with a toothpick.

Cool on rack.

Yes I used added sugar for this recipe. Typically, with any quick bread / muffin recipe that calls for brown sugar, I substitute honey. But I’m out of honey and forgot to grab it at the grocery store. So I caved and used some brown sugar. #YOLO

2. Buffalo Chicken Quinoa Bake

Buffalo Quinoa

Disclaimer: This is my own recipe. I think it tastes great and is a lower calorie way to get my buffalo chicken fix. That being said this may be a bit “out there” for most. 

Ingredients:

However much cooked quinoa 1 Cup of dried quinoa makes
1 – 2 Cups Shredded Chicken – tossed in buffalo sauce
1 Package Frozen Spinach (organic) thawed and drained of excess liquid
2/3 Cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese – organic if possible
1 Egg
1/2 Cup Greek Yogurt
1/2 Cup Buffalo Sauce ( I add way more than this, but I love buffalo sauce)

Yes, greek yogurt sounds odd. Yes, you’re probably thinking no way in heck will that taste okay. Trust me when I say you won’t notice it and it’s the easiest, lowest calorie way to glue ingredients together in a casserole. I add greek yogurt or replace something with greek yogurt in just about every recipe. If you won’t at least give it a chance once, then you are seriously missing out.

Mix egg, cheese, yogurt, and buffalo sauce together in separate bowl. Toss quinoa, shredded chicken, spinach and egg mixture together until everything seems well incorporated. Spread evenly in a 9×13 rectangular baking pan. Bake at 350 for about 30-40 minutes or until edges begin to brown.

I will slice this up into lunch portioned squares and bring them to work for the week. Spinach may sound like an odd addition but I’m all for sneaking in vegetables wherever possible. You could also used chopped broccoli or omit the veggies altogether. I’ll put buffalo sauce on just about anything so it doesn’t really affect me.

If you make this and don’t like it, that’s what the disclaimer is for. I assume no responsibility.

3. Mixed Potato Veggie Frittata  

Frittata

This is also my own recipe. I’m going to blog the whole recipe with photos tomorrow! Stay tuned!

 

That’s my meal prep this week. The muffins are freaking AMAZEBALLS and could be my new favorite muffin base. The frittata is LIFE CHANGING and I can’t wait to post the recipe tomorrow. The quinoa bake is exciting but not overwhelming as I make quinoa bakes on the regs. What are you meal prepping this week?

3 thoughts on “Meal Prep Sunday

  1. All about the vegetable sneak too – boyfriend is convinced he hates all vegetables so I just hide them 🙂

    • That’s awesome! I also throw TONS of veggies into smoothies as well. I know I don’t eat enough veggies, ever. So I try to make up for it whenever possible!

Leave a Reply

