True Life: I killed meal prep Sunday.

On my quest to become a half marathon runner and shed stress weight from college, I have started to partake in the sport of meal prepping. Yes, I consider meal prepping a sport. I have to fight my way through the pits of the grocery store. Avoid the tantalizing end caps of cookie dough Oreos and the latest Lays chip flavor. Slice, dice, and mix myself silly. Then cook and store enough food to feed the Duggars myself for the work week. All of this usually occurs in less than half a day. It’s a lot of work.

None the less I have decided that what sets apart the average meal prepper from the Olympic meal prepper is creativity. More power to the people who eat baked chicken, boiled rice, and steamed veggies for a week. But I would be face first in the nearest bag of Pirates Booty after one meal of bland food. Pinterest is great inspiration but lets be honest, how many of you pin your little hearts away only to never actually make anything from your board titled NOMS? That’s what I thought. So in the interest of not increasing Pirtates Booty stock, I decided to use my wealth of Food Network and Pinterest “knowledge” and mix up the meal prep game. Thus landing me at the following dishes:

Maple Balsamic Quinoa Salad
Maple Balsamic Quinoa Salad

Recipe:

1 Sweet Potato, peeled and diced
15 Brussel Sprouts, washed and quartered
1 Cup cooked Quinoa
1 tbsp Coconut Oil, melted
1 handful of pecans, crushed

Dressing:
1/4 Cup EVOO
1/4 Cup Balsamic
1/8 Cup Maple Syrup
1 Dollop of Dijon Mustard (to hold things together)

Toss the diced sweet potatoes and quartered brussel sprouts in the melted coconut oil. Spread out on to a baking sheet and roast in the oven on 425 degrees for about 15 minutes or until they are golden brown. Mix the roasted sweets and brussel sprouts with the cooked quinoa. Place crushed pecans into a non stick pan and toast on high heat until pecans are darker in color. Add pecans to the quinoa mixture.

In a separate bowl, whisk EVOO, balsamic, maple syrup, and dijon mustard together until blended. Pour over quinoa mixture and toss thoroughly. Note that this will make a lot of dressing. I only used half of the dressing on the quinoa mix and will use the other half for green salads throughout the week. This can be eaten cold or hot, I usually keep it cold.

PRO TIP: Buy quinoa that says “pre-washed” it’ll save you tons of precious time and reduce the risk of terrible tasting quinoa. Trust me when I say it’s worth the extra 30 cents.

Omelette Muffins
Omelette Muffins

Recipe:

6 whole eggs
6 egg whites
1/4 Cup Milk
Salt and Pepper

Omelette fillings of your choice!

Whisk 6 whole eggs and 6 egg whites with 1/4 Cup milk until well blended. Add a pinch of salt and pepper. This is the base to any omelette muffin.

Spray a muffin tin with non stick spray. Fill the muffin cups with your favorite omelette add-ins. For this version I use green peppers, chopped spinach, and 1/4 slice of sharp cheddar cheese for each cup. In the past I have used roasted sweet potatoes and parmesan, apple chicken sausage, or just straight eggs.

Distribute the whisked egg mixture evenly to each muffin cup. Bake at 350 degrees until the eggs resemble a muffin, about 15 minutes or so. Once cooled, store in a ziploc bag in the fridge. I usually bring 2 of these and 1 Thomas whole wheat mini bagel with me to work for breakfast. I microwave the eggs for about 40 seconds while the mini bagel toasts. I’ll use one muffin for a mini egg sandwich and eat the other as is.

Both of these were super easy to make and are interesting enough that I won’t feel like I missing out on food. It’s easy to portion control too.

Not photoed was a batch of maple dijon chicken. Wasn’t a super exciting photo and there’s a Kardashians marathon on that I’m trying to catch. Meal prepping was enough grown up activity for the day – it’s time for Kimye’s proposal!

Leave a Reply

